Over the past number of days I have been working on creating the first draft of my COP characteristic matrix. Having extracted the characteristicsc of a COP from the literature, i brought these all into one document and using the Thematci Analysis process, I began coding the data. I first broke up the characteristics according to the Domain, Community and Practice of a Community of Practice.

Untitled

I then worked on coding the data further, looking to expand the list of characteristics and to then sort each feature of that characteristic. The characteristics I have at present are:

  • Governance
  • Values
  • Purpose
  • Activities
  • Participation
  • Size
  • Location
  • Collaboration
  • Communication
  • Knowledge Management
  • Learning
  • Development
  • Awareness

Untitled 2

I am currently awaiting feedback from my two supervisors before I code the data further to develop a comprehensive COP characteristic matrix.

