As blogged about last week, from the literature of defintions about CoPs, I developed a list of key words/phrases all related to the definition of CoPs. This week I began to categorise them and relate them back to the Domain, Community and Practice of a CoP. This can be seen in the image below:

unnamed

I then created a word cloud for each of the Domain, Community and Practice:

wordcloud_Domain
Domain
wordcloud_Community
Community
wordcloud_Practice
Practice

From these word clouds, I want to work towards creating a one word defintion followed by a description of communities of practice. Following this I will identify the key characteristics of a community of practice and represent them in a matrix which can be used to determine whether a community which looks like a CoP on the outside actually is a community of practice or not on the inside.

